TBR: Spookathon!

Spookathon is a readathon created by three lovely women (booksandlala, paigespages and bookerly) where horror/thrillers are finally given free reign. This is it’s second year (last year I failed), but I’m determined to do better this time.


 

The Challenges:

 

thriller

Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero

 

The surviving members of a forgotten teenage detective club (and their dog) must reunite as broken adults to finally solve the terrifying case that ruined them all and sent the wrong man to prison. Scooby Doo and the gang never had to do this!

Scooby Doo homage? Mystery? Thriller? 90’s nostalgia??? This is an obvious choice!

 

 

noob

Pet Sematary by Stephen King

When the Creeds move into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son-and now an idyllic home. As a family, they’ve got it all…right down to the friendly car. But the nearby woods hide a blood-chilling truth-more terrifying than death itself-and hideously more powerful. The Creeds are going to learn that sometimes dead is better.

This movie creeped me out as a child, I hope the book is even spookier.

 

or

 

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

 

— For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror.

All I needed to see was Leigh Bardugo as one of the authors. That’s all. I’m easy like that.

 

 

noob2.jpg

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera.

 

Death and I have ALWAYS had a rocky relationship, so this one is fitting, even though it isn’t spooky. Also, I don’t think I can plug this book any more than I already have…

 

 

 

noob3.jpg

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

 

Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. Although gifted with a superbly logical brain, Christopher is autistic. Everyday interactions and admonishments have little meaning for him. Routine, order and predictability shelter him from the messy, wider world. Then, at fifteen, Christopher’s carefully constructed world falls apart when he finds his neighbor’s dog, Wellington, impaled on a garden fork, and he is initially blamed for the killing.

Christopher decides that he will track down the real killer and turns to his favorite fictional character, the impeccably logical Sherlock Holmes, for inspiration. But the investigation leads him down some unexpected paths and ultimately brings him face to face with the dissolution of his parents’ marriage. As he tries to deal with the crisis within his own family, we are drawn into the workings of Christopher’s mind.

This has been on my radar for a long time, I really want to get to it this time around.

 

 

 

spoopy setting

 

 

The October Country by Ray Bradbury

 

It’s chilling encounters with funhouse mirrors, parasitic accident-watchers, and strange poker chips intact. Both sides of Bradbury’s vaunted childhood nostalgia are also on display, in the celebratory “Uncle Einar,” and haunting “The Lake,” the latter a fine elegy to childhood loss.

Another one I’ve been meaning to get to…now is the time.

 


 

Are you participating in #Spookathon, and what are you planning on reading?

 

Watch me be shameful:

Follow me on all the things please – IG/Twitter/Facebook deereadsforfood

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s