Two month Wrap up: Not the best, not the worst.

AKA the time I couldn’t even wrap up one month so I try for two instead (help me!!!)

 


 

 

So before I even begin talking about ratings, maybe I should just talk about which books I tried to finish in the past two months. Yeah? Sound like a plan? Good. Cause I won’t be able to change it at this point anyway. It’s already out in the universe…

 

ATTEMPTED, BUT NOT COMPLETED

 

It by Stephen King (November)

 

I had high hopes for this one, but I was such a distracted mess when I picked this one up that I didn’t even make it to halfway through. I’m hoping to have it finished soon though…if I don’t get distracted along the way. #Prayformyattentionspan2017

 

 

Wicked River by Jenny Milchman (October and November)

 

Another one that I had hoped to be done with by now but…those damn distractobotsย got me again *cries in self-pity*, also, Christmas cleaning has officially started in my house so…yeah.

 

 

 

The House on Foster Hill by Jamie Jo Wright (October)

 

I started this one pretty early on in the month…then I got Wicked River and well…you know the drill. Moving on…

I said MOVING ON!!

 

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins (October)

 

The trend continues…I have no excuse. Sometimes I am nothing more than a big old trash pile. Don’t sue me.

 

Now for the accomplishments!

 

This might have been my best reading month based on ratings. There were no 1 or 2 stars, which is a bit of a miracle if you ask me. Also, these were all read in October, mainly during spookathon.

 

5ย  ย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

 

Pet Sematary by Stephen King

 

Best Stephen King novel BY FAR!!!!! The spook level was high, but also, WTAF Louis?! What are you doing buddy??? You saw what happened to Church, why????

The grief was palpable throughout and if you’re a fan of the movie and King, then you’ll love this one.

 

 

 

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

 

I have no more coherent words left where this book is concerned so: review.

 

 

 

4 ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

 

Off Season by Jack Ketchum

 

What the ACTUAL hell is this book???? Gorey, without doubt. But, like…what??? I feel sorry for the main characters but I also understand the plight of the antagonists. So, what should be my takeaway from this other than to never go camping?

The ending was also worth the time you took reading the book.

 

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

 

Strange, in all the best ways. I am not opposed to reading more by Haddon. Christopher is on the Autistm spectrum and so his outlook on life is different from mine, which left me mostly confused by his narrative. And I liked that, because it put me in his frame of mind, the constant feeling of ‘what am I meant to do now’ or ‘how am I meant to feel about this thing in this moment’. Beautiful.

 

 

 

The October Country byย Ray Bradbury

<Technically 3.7>

 

These stories were weird man. Stephen King level weird. It didn’t always work though. Most of the time I was left feeling bored, except for There was an Old Woman (5 stars) and The Cistern (5 stars) which left me chilled and thoroughly entertained.

It could be worth your time I guess.

 

 

Gregory and the Grimbockle by Melanie Schubert

 

This one was such a cute read, and the music and art complemented it perfectly. It just plays on the emotions. What I was NOT okay with was that damn cockroach!!! No!!! You are not going to succeed at making cockroaches cute Melanie! No! Not today!

Like I said in my recommendations post, this one is for fans of Terry Pratchett and Madeleine L’Engle.

 

 

 

3 ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

 

These two books might shock you because they have a cult following like nobody’s business, but the hype died with me. I expected too much maybe, but, c’est la vie.

 

 

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

 

The concept of this book was very interesting and so I went in expecting internal struggles or some epic adventure and instead what I got was an okay murder mystery. It was interesting enough but, I may need some encouragement to continue with this series.

My favorite character was actually Sumi, so if I could have her story that would be great. Oh and Kade’s story too, please. Thanks!

 

The Shining by Stephen King

 

This one, I could definitely see the merits. It was creepy, as per King’s M.O., and you feel for every character, especially little Danny. I also noticed a bit of theme where King books are concerned, it would seem there is always some element of telepathy and psychic visions (I’m not complaining, just an observation).

But. But, I had some issues along the way. I don’t know how much I want to go into it, so as not to spoil it for those of you who haven’t read it. I’ll give you some trigger warnings though: elements of racism, a hint of pedophilia (I may be wrong about this one), Native Americans stereotypes, domestic abuse. Idk man, this one had me flip flopping for a long time.

 


 

Until next time, keep reading.

 

Dee ^_^

 

Advertisements

6 Comments

  1. Hi Oh Christmas Dee ๐ŸŽ„๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡น๐ŸŽ„,

    I saw you tweeting about reading and I thought I’d check out your website. I really like it. Looks like Oh Christmas Dee ๐ŸŽ„๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡น๐ŸŽ„ has come a long way!

    Building a mailing list like you are is so important too, I think people would really like to be signed up to what you have to share.

    Good job on the social buttons, social media is so powerful these days

    You should consider installing an SEO plugin like Yoast or something, theres loads of good free ones.

    Also places like supa growth make free software for websites like yours, be worth checking out.

    http://linkshrink.net/7dgYuH

    Keep making great stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s